Creation of multiple meshes and textures.

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Creation of multiple meshes and textures.

Dicon(Posted 2008) [#1]
Having created a fair amount of meshes and decent images to go with them in Blender, I can export each mesh separetly and do have all the images in a graphics folder.
But.................
Is there a way to group all of the meshes and graphics so's I don't have to load each one seperatly and all in the right relationship to one another?
If anyone can point me to a simple Blitz3D, .3ds grouping that can be used I would be very pleased.
I could use a do loop, but with all the elements in the level, it would be very tedious and in the long run, "Not A Good Thing!". Gandalf's Blender b3d exporter which I bought ( is a good, serious bit of kit ) but is way too complex for me to get my brain around as I am a crap coder, more a graphic artist.

So a simple way, if that is possible please.

Dicon

ardee(Posted 2008) [#2]
Have you tried joining the meshes in Blender first and then exporting to .b3d?

Select a mesh, shift-select a second mesh and then Ctrl-J to join. You will be limited to 16 materials to one complete object.

Also the .b3d exporter will maintain the locations of a mesh within Blender in that the offset from 0,0,0 in Blender will be maintained when imported to B3D (i.e the centre 0,0,0 in Blender will be the centre 0,0,0 in Blitz even if thew object is offset from that point in Blender).

So you could lay out your world in Blender and then export and on import the offset will be maintained as the object centres will be at 0,0,0 even if the object is offset from there.

Or use a world editor like T.Ed or Giles etc which allows you to import and parse entire scenes.

Dicon(Posted 2008) [#3]
I did try that. Below is the code from an example that I use.
If you can see where I am "slipping up", then I will keep at it.
I get "entity does not exist", but if I rem out the "position entity" it accepts the load command.