How to know if a triangle is facing the camera?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/How to know if a triangle is facing the camera?

Uncle(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi,

I've been working with Sswift normal code from the archive...

http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=976

I was hoping that with the normal of the surface, that I would be able to tell if the triangle was in view of the camera. Is this logical or am I barking up the wrong tree? Any clues would be really appreciated as Im new to all this mesh/surface/triangles/vertex business.

Cheers

Ross C(Posted 2008) [#2]
Yeah, i'm sure checking the normal of the triangle is the way to go. I would assume, tforming the normal (TFormNormal) to the cameras co-ords, would allow you to easily check by determining if the z vector is minus or not.

Could be wrong, but i think that's the way it works :o)

Stevie G(Posted 2008) [#3]
This should work ..

;get cameras direction normal
Tformnormal 0,0,1,Camera, 0
CamNx# = tformedx()
CamNy# = tformedy()
CamNz# = tformedz()

;compute dot product of camera normal and tri normal
CdotN# = CamNx*TriNx + CamNY * TriNy + CamNz * TriNz
If CdotN < 0 then
  {This tri is facing the camera}
Endif

I forget whether the CdotN should be < 0 or greater so bear that in mind if it doesn't work as is.

Stevie

Uncle(Posted 2008) [#4]
Thanks both. I seem to be having a problem that my triangle normals are correct. I can calculate the mid point of triangle ok, and I would expect to see my normal coming out 90 to the surface, however the seem to be coming out at an odd angle. I've tried the codes in the archives, but seem to be doing something wrong.

Does anyone have a demo showning the a triangles norm, or a demo showing when a face is visible to the camera? Here's hoping as my head is hurting ;)

Cheers again,

Unc

Stevie G(Posted 2008) [#5]
What do you need this for? Are you using updatenormals - this will average the normals of shared vertices so is wrong?

Uncle(Posted 2008) [#6]