AI

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/AI

Jerome Squalor(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi, i'm pretty new at Ai programming so i was wondering if anyone could give me some nice tutorials or instructions on some basics

thnx

mtnhome3d(Posted 2008) [#2]
It depends on what the object thats is "AI-ed" is supposed to do. if its a baddie it needs to move in such a way as the type of baddie would move and so and so forth
without knowing what the object is its hard to help

for starters get to know entitydistance real well and linepick.

Jasu(Posted 2008) [#3]
I've written a very competent AI for my game without ever seeking any information or reading a tutorial about creating one. It took a few days to come up with the idea and a lot days more to make it work, but it's not impossible.

The basic good idea is thinking in states. 'Finite state machine' as the academics call it. First think of values the AI should be gathering about it's surroundings and itself.
- My health is low
- Enemy present
- Multiple enemies present
- Enemy outnumbered
- I am outnumbered
- Route to enemy is blocked

Then according to these values, your AI should decide a state it is in.
- Agressive attack
- Defensive attack
- Flee
- Move to X
- Wait

Then according to the state, AI should prioritize whether to shoot or move or anything it could be doing.

Please keep in mind that although it makes AI coding easier to do 'AI cheating', it drives people crazy. So if possible, make your AI so that it doesn't have capabilities the human player doesn't have.

Ross C(Posted 2008) [#4]
Also, you may want to look into path finding, to help your cpu characters find their way round the enviroment.

Jasu(Posted 2008) [#5]
Yes, path finding is basically a chapter of its own. There are also lots of other issues, like AI teamwork. There are always ways to improve your AI, but there's rarely a need for best of the best solution. Just think what you need for your game.