Bone animation

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Bone animation

_33(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hello, I need to learn how bone animation works, and how to set up bones on a B3D model! :P Any help appreciated. I really liked the BIT model exampled made by tom in a forum little while back.

http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=73124

Any tips appreciated.

Also, I can't find the source of this:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=62559

Mortiis(Posted 2007) [#2]
Which 3d application do you use?

Generally it goes like this;
-Place bones (Rigging)
-Assign vertex to each bone (Skinning)
-Then animate!

I'm not an expert though.

_33(Posted 2007) [#3]
I want a 100% code solution, could use data statements. I'm just asking if that is easily feasible, and how would I go about?. Thanks Mortiis for tips.

Gabriel(Posted 2007) [#4]
There's no such thing as a 100% code solution, because you cannot create bones in code. The only way you could remotely do it wholly in code is to get the specs for the B3D format, and create one in code, then load it back in again. It's not pretty or practical, nor is it even technically 100% code, but it's the nearest you can get.

The B3D specs are here : http://www.blitzbasic.com/sdkspecs/sdkspecs/b3dfile_specs.txt

It gets a little more complicated when you throw bones and animation into the mix, but it's not an inherently difficult format to learn. I wrote a static exporter in a few hours. with animation and bones, figure on maybe a couple of days.