glass effect

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/glass effect

Nice_But_Dim(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi
I have looked in the archives for a glass effect and all i found was an example by jeppe nielsen.Which is not what i wanted,that was for shattering glass.What i need is a nice glass effect
What i have done at the moment is load a texture,and set the alpha to quite low and the 64 flag (for spherical map),it looks convincing but it also looks like cling film any advice about creating nice glass effect is very much appreciated.

thanks all Mark.

I have an example of what im on about but i don`t know
where to post or host it (what a numpty)
I`m a 3d modeler by trade.

Beaker(Posted 2007) [#2]
Try cubic mapping.
http://www.blitzbasic.com/b3ddocs/command.php?name=LoadTexture&ref=3d_cat
or this:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=578

Techlord(Posted 2007) [#3]
My idea is to use a 'simulated glass crack' decal to mimic cracking glass, adding more connecting crack decals with additional damage. After a specific amount of damage, I replace the glass plane with a Single-Surface 'Glass' Reactor (aka Particle System). In its initial state the Glass Reactor has a specific set of Triangle Shards (Particles) arranged to form a single Glass Plane. The particles are then animated to look exploding like Glass debris.

Techlord(Posted 2007) [#4]
Another possibility is to animate a 3DS/B3D Plane mesh with keyframe animated Shards.

Beaker(Posted 2007) [#5]
Erm.. he wasn't looking for animated breaking glass. :)

Thinking about it. Something I did for glass once didn't involve any special effects (no spherical or cube mapping), I just painted some white squiggles on a texture (with alpha), reduced the overall alpha to 0.2 (or thereabouts) and stretched it over a single pane of glass. Looked really nice surprisingly. The overall effect was that the windows looked like they were a bit dusty but had been cleaned at some time in the past leaving smears.