model viewer, command line use, request to expert

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/model viewer, command line use, request to expert

muddle(Posted 2007) [#1]
This may be useful information to some people. Apologies if it is already well known, I am still fairly new to blitz

I have been frustrated by programs that aim to display 3d models.
They are often slow to use or rely on awkward file selection, or have parameters fixed that I do not like.

I thought it might be better to use the familiar windows explorer to move through directories and just click on any 3d file for a quick view.
A windows programmer suggested the command line would be the way to go, and it turned out that Blitz 'commandline' string holds the full file heirachy and it can ( or should) load the model selected.
EXCEPT THAT ... 2 hours of testing and complete frustration later it finally dawned that ( despite expectation and appearances during tests!) the quotation marks in the command line string were being retained and doubling the quote marks the final 'load mesh' string . Grrr.

The modification of the initial string, as in the simple program included at the end of this post, solved the problem.

The program may also be useful for the way it uses an inertia effect with object rotations.

Feel free to use and add any extra modifiers as desired.

If you wanted to avoid associating x and 3ds files with this sort of program you could perhaps call windows explorer from within a new version and get the command line that way. Perhaps it is best to stay simple, as the point of this was to quickly skip through files.

--------------------------------------------

One problem emerged in viewing models and I would appreciate it if an expert could tell me if there is a way to make 'transparency' in standard 3ds model texture work properly in blitz.
As far as i can tell, a one sided transparent texture appears transparent from that side only. From the other side it appears opaque.