heightmap textures

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/heightmap textures

Eviltoes(Posted 2007) [#1]
Is there a way to texture an entire terrain instead of tiling the same texture over every face?

Matty(Posted 2007) [#2]
2 ways:

1 with a mesh terrain (ie not standard blitz terrain entity) - uvmap the mesh so that the texture covers the entire mesh, usually with a planar mapping in the xz plane.

other way:

with a blitz terrain entity - scale the texture an appropriate amount relative to the size of the terrain. So if you have a 256x256 texture map for the heightmap then you either scale the diffuse map for the texture by 256 or 1/256 - it is one of those I can't remember offhand whether you scale it up or down.

Eviltoes(Posted 2007) [#3]
umm.... I'm still kind of new to programming, could you explain what a diffuse map is and how to scale it up/down?

Matty(Posted 2007) [#4]
Sorry Eviltoes I'll see if I can explain it a bit better.

I assume you have a heightmap (bitmap) you are using for the terrain using the loadterrain("heightmap.bmp") command.

The diffuse map is simply your colored,textured bitmap that you want to apply to the terrain. For the purposes of this exercise you could use any bitmap you want.

To scale the texture use the 'scaletexture' command.

Here is some sample code to test it with:

Graphics3D 800,600,32,2

camera=CreateCamera()
MoveEntity camera,0,100,0

terrain=LoadTerrain("heightmap.bmp") ;image you want for heightmap
tex=LoadTexture("colormap.bmp") ;image you want for texture

EntityTexture terrain,tex
ScaleTexture tex,256,256 ;assumes image for texture is 256pixels by 256pixels.  You may need to use the texturewidth(),textureheight() commands for arbitrary texture sizes

Repeat

If KeyDown(200) Then MoveEntity camera,0,0,1
If KeyDown(208) Then MoveEntity camera,0,0,-1
If KeyDown(203) Then TurnEntity camera,0,1,0
If KeyDown(205) Then TurnEntity camera,0,-1,0

UpdateWorld
RenderWorld
Flip

Until KeyDown(1)
End