Netcode - How to design

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Netcode - How to design

AJirenius(Posted 2006) [#1]
Ok, I've never tried coding any netcode before but I figure my current project would be a perfect start to get experience.
Still I just don't want to jump into it unless i'm certain that I do have a good design of my game so I know it's optimized for netcoding so here comes a few questions to those who might have more experience than me in this area:

Gamedescription: Two players fight each other on a small fully visible arena. They control one unit each and the unit will probably have up to 3 bullets on screen at the same time. The player can before match choose from 10 different units so the steering, movements, weapons and their behaviour is very different.
There are also obstacles on the battlearena (animated walls going up/down)

Question #1: What kind of information should I send back and fourth? Is it simply position and rotation of the units/bullets? May I instead send over just controldata (mouse and keyboardpresses) and let both computers calculate it?

Question #2: Who does the calculation? Will both the computers do collisionchecks or just the server? How do I transfer this correctly? What about velocities, damage etc?

Question #3: Do you have any good tutorials or sourcecode where a similar game is setup so I can get any ideas?

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2006) [#2]
It realy depends on if you want to play this over LAN only, or if it has to work over the web. Let me tell you, playing such a thing over the Web is pretty hard. Especially the moving walls make it hard to sync things correctly, and fairly.

Maybe you'll have to use a mandatory Lag on the controls of all players, to be able to snyc things correctly. Because the web connection may take 200 millisecs or more. Dead Rekoning etc. as it is used for FPS games is not very usable here.

So a LAN game would be much easier.