Has anyone used this?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Has anyone used this?

RetroRusty(Posted 2006) [#1]
http://www.blitzmax.com/toolbox/toolbox.php?tool=85

Is this IDE any good or do you use Visual Blitz or the B3D IDE?

Thanks

kevin8084(Posted 2006) [#2]
I used it in it's earlier form for 3drad and it wasn't too bad. Right now I use the B3D IDE.

Fuller(Posted 2006) [#3]
I use the B3d IDE because it's the only IDE that capitalizes names like Flip,Cls,Wend,Endif,etc.

LineOf7s(Posted 2006) [#4]
...it's the only IDE that capitalizes names like Flip,Cls,Wend,Endif,etc.

Um, no... Visual Blitz does this, and whilst I'm not a Protean user, I'm fairly certain it does too. So there's two, at least.

Is this IDE any good?

Much to my surprise (given how much of a forum whore I am), I've never heard of it before. Looks nice, so I'm downloading the demo as I speak. I'm still a fan of Visual Blitz (unsupported as it is), but I'm always open to other possibilities if they have something to offer.

RetroRusty(Posted 2006) [#5]
@LingOf7s

Have you had a look at this? Does it have the same in it that Visual Blitz has?

Thanks

Damien Sturdy(Posted 2006) [#6]
From memory it was good, but I think I stopped using it due to the strange way the text input worked. I will have to see if it improved.

It wasn't faulty, just worked differently to B3Ds IDE and other text editing SW.

LineOf7s(Posted 2006) [#7]
Enigma:

Finally got around to playing with this, and... well.. it didn't go smoothly.

Install.

Get nag screen. No problem there. Click on 'run unregistered' or whatever.

Screen opens. First thing that catches my eye? Garbled and messed-up toolbars. What the? Restart - same thing. Minimise and maximise. Same thing. Alrighty.

Load Blitz file. F5 to run. No response. Check menu. F5 = Test Run. F5 again - nothing. Select 'Test Run (F5)' from menu. Tells me it can't find Blitz3D and I should check my configuration. Fair enough - I'd forgotten I hadn't told it that yet.