Online MultiPlayer

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Online MultiPlayer

Stevie G(Posted 2006) [#1]
I hope to attempt online play with my verlet engine - at least to see if it works. May fail miserably but I'll try.

First off I have little or no knowledge of networking but have a few questions which hopefully some can answer.

Can this be done with the inbuilt network commands alone?

Are there any good examples of this anywhere, specifically for physics based games?

For movement, am I correct in assuming that I only need each machine to send details of the user inputs to the server.. e.g. left/right accelerate etc... which inturn sends this information to each local machine to then apply this to the netplayers vehicle? I'm sure there's alot more to it but is this the general idea?

I've read a bit about TCP and UDP methods ... one being quicker with no guaratee of packets being received and the other the opposite. I'd imagine that using TCP will involve some form of positional interpolation should a packet be lost. I think with physics games this really has to be avoided as lag would cause massive forces to be applied. Is this others experience and are their nifty ways around it?

The thing which I'm struggling to get my head around is that it's entirely possible, with lag & missed packets, that each player would not see each user vehicle in the position they are on that players local machine. What is the best way to get around this?

Also, how do I go about testing this kind of thing on a single machine. Can I set it up to be the server and client?

Cheers
Stevie

KuRiX(Posted 2006) [#2]
Well, i would vote for three basic choices:

1 - Use in-built TCP (easy and secure, not fast)
2 - Use BlitzPlayPRO (almost in-built, because is a library using B3D only commands)
3 - Use my Raknet Wrapper

You can test it in your computer just launching two application in window mode, with some delay command in the main loop so they can work at 50% of the CPU.