Jobs?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Jobs?

DroolBucket(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hey i was just wondering if anyone here does programing as their job (or sumthing close to it). Im only 15 and was wondering if their are any (future) job oppotunities for a programmer, and what a programmer does for their job

thanks
droolBucket

poopla(Posted 2005) [#2]
Yes, alot of people here have programming experience in the past, or currently as their primary source of income. As of right now, programmers will become more and more demanded apon. As far as what we do.. there's almost nothing modern these days that a programmer hasn't effected in some way.

_Skully(Posted 2005) [#3]
Programming is almost exclusively what I do for a living and make a pretty penny doing it. Like Dev says Programming will always have a future!

Skully

VP(Posted 2005) [#4]
You've got more chance of a really well paid programming job if you learn some mad language like COBOL. There are firms (like the whole of the UK NHS, as far as I can tell) that still have a reliance on systems that run software written in obscure languages for which the original developer(s) have long since disappeared.

You can pretty much write your own paycheck if you get a job maintaining / updating such systems.

C/C++, PHP, MySQL, VB, C# coders are ten a penny. They do marvellous jobs but competition for a position is extreme verging on ridiculous, resulting in some very tough interviews.

Rob Farley(Posted 2005) [#5]
The problem is most VB C# etc jobs are about as interesting as watching a fresh dog turd dry up on a sunny day. Trust me on this one as a VB.Net/ ASP.net/ SQL noddy... About as entertaining as pushing a blunt stick in your eye... If you're down the pub and people ask what you do, you get as far as the word programmer and they're already knawing off they own leg to get away... It's nearly as bad as saying Accountant.