LOD code

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/LOD code

AdsAdamJ(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hi, long time lurker here!

I've been programming since I was a little kid (I'm 24 now), but I'm quite new to working with 3D. This morning I was working on some Level-Of-Detail code for a game I'm planning, and this is what I came up with:

Type obj_data
	Field obj				; Object centre
	Field obj_scale#		; Scale of object
	Field range_near		; 'Near' range
	Field range_far			; 'Far' range
	Field objLOD_0			; Closest object
	Field objLOD_1			; Mid-range object
	Field objLOD_2			; Distant object
	Field LOD2_visible		; Override the checking on LOD2 visibility
End Type

......... insert code here

Function check_LOD(temp.obj_data, cam_temp)
	Local dist = 0
	dist = EntityDistance(cam_temp, temp\obj)

If dist < test\range_near Then
		ShowEntity temp\objLOD_0
		HideEntity temp\objLOD_1
		If temp\LOD2_visible = False Then HideEntity temp\objLOD_2		; If LOD2 visibility is true, never hide entity
	End If

If dist >= test\range_near And dist < test\range_far Then
		HideEntity temp\objLOD_0
		ShowEntity temp\objLOD_1
		If temp\LOD2_visible = False Then HideEntity temp\objLOD_2		; If LOD2 visibility is true, never hide entity
	End If

If dist >= test\range_far Then
		HideEntity temp\objLOD_0
		HideEntity temp\objLOD_1
		ShowEntity temp\objLOD_2										; No checking here, always visible at this range
	End If
End Function

Opinions? Any way I can improve on this? At the moment it's not too bad. I created a random 'galaxy' with 5000 entities, and I racked up no more than 1000-2000 tris on average. I set the highest level of LOD (objLOD_2) as a sprite to cut down on the number of tris rendered.

Also, how do you create the code boxes? I have no idea! Thanks. :)

KuRiX(Posted 2005) [#2]
To create codebox just put your code between
[ codebox ]
code here
[ /codebox ]

Without the spaces of course.