Cel-shading - Best Method For Outlines?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Cel-shading - Best Method For Outlines?

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2005) [#1]
Okay, so I'm really new to cel-shading and I'd like some opinions.

I pretty much understand the 'inverted mesh' technique that people seem to have been using in blitz. It's neat and simple, but isn't there a danger of running up huge triangle counts?

Anyway, doing a bit of research, I've noticed that it's more traditional to use a line drawing technique that draws lines along edges that have a front facing and back facing triangle.

I realise that this technique would be more complex in terms of the code required (I'd have to collect and store all the edge-triangle information for a start, plus use a function to figure out which way a triangle is facing, vector math etc...) and also I am cautious that there may be limitations involved with doing this in Blitz. (E.g because you have draw the lines after all other rendering, you need to work out when not to draw them - if for example the object is behind something else)

So, basically my main question:

Is there anyone out there that would argue in favour of the traditional line-drawing method, and can give some tips for overcoming potential barriers such as the example mentioned, or should I just stick to the inverted mesh method?

Please no discussion on cel-shaded lighting for the moment, as I'm not quite ready to get into all that yet! :O)

Gabriel(Posted 2005) [#2]
Personally I like the sphere map method. Very fast, very simple. You just need a sphere map which has a black hollow circle filling the texture. I guess shade the inner circle with three or four shades of white and that would be a nice effect. It's not perfect but without pixel shaders nothing is.

IIRC, the best cel-shaded effect I ever saw was done by Mearrin, but I haven't seen him around in ages, and Blitzcoder, where he posted the pics, is gone now.

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2005) [#3]