What constitutes low polygons?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/What constitutes low polygons?

Nicstt(Posted 2005) [#1]
Im curious what is meant by low polygon modeling, my fps has taken a huge hit just by adding a few gates. I know have a total of 20 doors/gates and fps can drop to 28ish depending on where player is looking.

Suggestions would be helpful.:)

Tom(Posted 2005) [#2]
Low is just that, a low polygon count.

How are you creating the gates? Using CopyEntity() is best as I believe the newly copied entitys are instances of the original, they use/share the same mesh & texture data.

Note that if you deform an entity, any copies of it will deform also.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Tom

Nicstt(Posted 2005) [#3]
thanks tom, but im new to 3d and especially new to creating my own stuff.

low as in 100, 1000, or 50000 per entity?

VIP3R(Posted 2005) [#4]
Doesn't the surface count of an entity also play a major role where render speed is concerned?

Tom(Posted 2005) [#5]
Well, the count has grown over the years as GFX hardware gets faster.

Someone asked a similar question on another forum, http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2155 , to which the infamous BoBo the Seal replied:

The average right now for PC is 1000 (NPC's and lower end engines) to 5000 (boss characters and higher end engines)
The key is the number of characters on screen at a given time, the effects that will be on the character, and the detail of the world geometry. If it's 2 or 3 characters you might be able to get away with 2000 poly models on a good engine with dynamic LOD (level of detail). If it's more characters at a time, for instance a town, the polycount should be as low as possible. In most boss battles it's just you and the boss in a room together. You can push the polycount up in this case.