Image System

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Image System

Black Hydra(Posted 2005) [#1]
I'm going to have a heads-up display for my game that shows things like health, ammo and everything. However I'm still trying to decide what is the best method to go about doing this and other 2D graphics.

I am still pretty new with Blitz so I need some advice about what method I should use as my knowledge of image commands is still pretty sketchy.

The easiest method would obviously be to just load the images and apply them to the screen after a call the RenderWorld(). However because I will be running the game with a setup method that allows for multiple screen resolutions (I cannot assume everyone can use just one), am I correct in my assumption that all these images will need to be scaled? Or does Blitz do this manually whenever you load into a different resolution? Because if I have to scale them this could lead to all sorts of math related problems as the images should maintain a constant size despite the screen size...

Any ideas or possible methods of implementing this?

Matty(Posted 2005) [#2]
It would be much better to use sprite entities or quads to display these as on some cards performing 2d operations like "drawimage" while in 3d mode will degrade performance significantly.

_PJ_(Posted 2005) [#3]
Sprites will be effectively scaled because the camera view would always appear the same.

If you are using 2D images, I would utilise ScaleImage and GraphicsWidth()/GraphicsHeight() to calculate and maintain the ratio.

Somkething like:

Note: it's earl;y - Im tired I have no access to blitz so dont necessarily trust this code (I dont!) it's just the principle I'm trying to get across!

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2005) [#4]