Planes with 3D Sprites

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Planes with 3D Sprites

HappyCat(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm quite new to this 3D lark (though I have plenty of 2D experience) and I'm using Syntax Error's Sprite Control routines to create what is basically a 2D shooter with nice alpha and blending.

Things have been going well - I have the gameplay basically done and I'm now moving on to making it look nice.

Anyway, I'm wondering if it's possible to use a Plane as an infinite scrolling background. I've tried, but I can't get anything to show - basically, I don't think I'm understanding Plane's correctly.

IPete2(Posted 2004) [#2]
Hiya HappyCat - you're not in Cheshire are you???!

Anyways, createplane does indeed create an infinite plane, so texture it and use positiontexture x,y to scroll it - see if that helps.

If you want a sky you may have to flip the plane over so you can see the texture from underneath! - great for skies actually... just make sure you really scale the texture up big style!

IPete2.

HappyCat(Posted 2004) [#3]
Aha! Got it! I had a closer look at how Syntax Error was setting up the camera and positioning sprites and I got it sussed. Cool :-)

Strider Centaur(Posted 2004) [#4]
Um, how do you flip a plane as I get a error when I try that?

Regardless if you want a REALY big sky effect that follows you everywhere, use a cube or a sphere, flip it, and make sure it stays centered on you cammers, also sent the entity mode for that cube/sphere to not use the Zbuffer so it always gets drawn behind everything else.

VIP3R(Posted 2004) [#5]

Um, how do you flip a plane as I get a error when I try that?

Have you tried 'RotateEntity plane,0,0,180' ?

HappyCat(Posted 2004) [#6]
Oh, and I meant to say - not in Cheshire I'm afraid - Aberdeen in fact.

HappyCat(Posted 2004) [#7]