Cheap Macs?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Cheap Macs?

Strider Centaur(Posted 2004) [#1]
Well since Im going to be moving to BMAX someday, but not till PC version is out, I'll be wanting to lay my hands on a Cheap Mac system.

I searched about and all I can say so far is, ouch.

Less perfromance at a higher price? Surely Im doing something wrong, you Mac users are not paying those street prices for that are you? Id like to keep it down around $500, that in the PC world is a 2600XP+, 40GB, 256MB, Nvidia Graphics system complete( no monitor ), so If I can find a Mac of near 2600XP+ performance for about that price, I would be very interested.

Back in the 80s I was a certified MAC technician, and installed lots of hard drive kits in the old MAC systems, no easy feat back then. In the 90s I wrote Apple off, and if they were smart they would have folded then, but they are a tenacios lot and seem to have finally managed( Im guising thant to iPod ) be stable again. So, after year of shaking my head at one foolish system release after another, Im looking at the G5 and G6(?), Like the specs, like the looks( but Apple has always been a good looker, it was their limitted OS( tho I admit better than windows) ontop of a dead desire to be incompatable with just about every device in the world and lousy software support I hated. ). The problem is those price tags. It also dosn't help that I can't seem to find any referance to MACs being strong performers in Graphics, I know they used to be the best, but no one seems to be talking about that now.

Help, info, anything, please...

Dreamora(Posted 2004) [#2]
No you can't ... the cheapest mac System even with super special student prices is around 800$ ( and we have around 20-30% off on the regular prices ).