print using

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/print using

barryem(Posted 2004) [#1]
Is there a print using function or some way to limit the number of decimal places that the text function shows? I realize I can convert to a string and truncate but I'm hoping there's a more direct way.

Thanks,
Barry

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#2]
The Command Reference is your friend. If not in the command reference, maybe an external DLL.

barryem(Posted 2004) [#3]
Of course I looked in the command reference but I didn't find anything there. I've thought about a DLL for this with a using() function that returns a formatted string but I'd like to avoid that while I'm just learning Blitz3D. I'm a retired programmer and but I'm trying to keep things nice and simple.

Barry

Damien Sturdy(Posted 2004) [#4]
then the easiest is to do it yourself, surely?

WolRon(Posted 2004) [#5]
There is no formatting in Blitz. You have to write your own functions. I know because I just wrote a program that does the same thing.

Here is some code that I wrote that formats any integer or float to a specified number of digits/decimals and fills leading or trailing spaces with zeros or blanks. It also only adds the decimal point if decimal digits are requested.

Usage: Print "Dollars $" + Digit$(3, 2, variable#, True, False)
or Text "Z = " + Digit$(6, 6, variable#, True)
or Print "Integer value = " + Digit$(2, 0, variable#)

intdigits = number of digits before the decimal point
decdigits = number of digits after the decimal point
number# = the number you want formatted
zeros = (optional) fill spaces before/after decimal point with zeros or 'blanks' (defaults to 'blanks')
leadingzeros = (optional) set to false if you don't want zeros before the decimal point (defaults to leading zeros)

Global blank$ = " " ;or blank$ = "" or whatever you choose

Function Digit$(intdigits, decdigits, number#, zeros=False, leadingzeros=True)
	If Sgn(number#) >= 0
		intnum = Floor(number#)
	Else
		intnum = Ceil(number#)