WinApi Question (GetEnvironmentVariable)

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/WinApi Question (GetEnvironmentVariable)

maverick69(Posted 2004) [#1]
I want to use the GetEnvironmentVariable Function. I have found decls on this page to use the functions, but I have one Problem. First, some example source

api_SetEnvironmentVariable ("TEST", "Value")
len = api_GetEnvironmentVariable ("TEST", c$, 255) 
print c$
waitkey
end

c$ ist always empty. How can I read out the Variable into a Blitz String?

Binary_Moon(Posted 2004) [#2]
Why are you using userlibs?

http://www.blitzbasic.com/b3ddocs/command.php?name=GetEnv

Surely that would do what you need?

To answer your question (note I'm not an expert with userlibs so I could be totally wrong). You can't pass a varible (c$) the way you are. That value would have to be the handle of a bank which you would then convert into a string (by looping through all the bytes returned and using their ascii code to work out the characters)

maverick69(Posted 2004) [#3]
The Blitz commands seems not to get them. I use the Armadillo-Software to protect my software. After I protected my blitz-code with Armadillo I have access to some ENVIRONEMENT Variables, but I don't get them with the Blitz GetEnv Command. When I use the Win32-Api Function I get back the correct length of the string/value, but I don't know how to read out the string/value correctly.

I've also tried to use a bank, but as im not very experienced with it i'm probably doing something wrong. Here is my code:

api_SetEnvironmentVariable ("TEST", "Value")

cbank = CreateBank(256)
api_GetEnvironmentVariable ("TEST", cbank, 255) 

For i=0 To 255	
	S$=S$+Str(PeekByte (cbank,i))+"|"
	If i Mod 20 = 0 Then Print "STRING: "+s$ : s$=""
Next
Print "STRING: "+s$

WaitKey
End

Jeroen(Posted 2004) [#4]
good question. I need this too, to distinct a "demo" and "full" version

BlitzSupport(Posted 2004) [#5]