Surfaces?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Surfaces?

_PJ_(Posted 2004) [#1]
Can someone tell me in simple 'English for Eejits' what Surfaces really are. I understand, they 'hold' the texture, but when people go on about multiple meshes or triangles with a single surface, and bring Brushes and U's and V's into everything, I get ever so lost.

Please note:

a) I do not, and am unlikely to in the near future, own any 3D Modelling software.

b) I'm thick as two short ones

c) Spell it slowly!

aab(Posted 2004) [#2]
[unreliable info]
well, i'm a 3d noob, but as far as i can tell , a surface is like a series of tris that are on the 'same plane' with each other ie: they face the same direction

if you exported a model eg: as a 3ds, and it was a cube, each four-sided poly(=face of the cube) would be cut into two tris:
so then each set of two tris is a surface, and so there are six surfaces.
[/unreliable info]

Stevie G(Posted 2004) [#3]
A surface can be any group of polygons which share the same brush properties (i.e. same texture , blend, alpha etc.. ) - they do not have to face the same direction !?

Gabriel(Posted 2004) [#4]
You can't really have multiple meshes with a single surface, it's a trick. Each mesh entity has a minimum of one surface. Now what you can do is create one mesh entity which contains the vertex and triangle data for more than one object. Eg: ten little missiles could all be built as one model with the same texture, and therefore could all be made from one surface.

Now when it comes to moving these missiles independently, you can't use the entity commands any more, because the entity is all ten missiles now. So you have to use the vertex manipulation commands to move the parts which belong to each missile independently. You need a basic grasp of position, rotation and scaling around arbitrary points in 3d space, but it's not too complex. ( If my pathetic grasp of 3d maths can cope with it, it can't be too bad. )