Stencil Shadow Volume demo

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Stencil Shadow Volume demo

Tom(Posted 2004) [#1]
The new SystemProperty$() commands has opened up Blitz to stencil ops, here's an example of shadow volumes. The guts of the code is from one of the DX 7 SDK examples.

NOTE! This is very raw! No pixel format checking at all, and some of the guys in Irc (all with ATI cards it seems) get a garbage display instead of eye candy so PLEASE don't complain if it's screwed up, I'm a crap coder and I've only been looking at the DX 7 SDK since v1.88 :) But that can be fixed with some checking.

anyways, just wanted to post to show a hardware shadow solution is possible since v1.88, alongwith maybe some other tricks.

http://www.tomspeed.com/ShadowVolume.zip

Oh yeah, if the demo works (hehe) the sphere represents a shadow volume, which in game terms, would normaly be produced 'on the fly', that could be costly, and unfortunately building a shadow volume from an animated mesh could be near impossible because we can't access deformed vertex position right now, but you never know :)

Cya
Tom

mongia2(Posted 2004) [#2]
thanks for demo...
work fine

Mongia

Damien Sturdy(Posted 2004) [#3]
oh, freakin' wow man! freaking WOW!!!!!!!!!!

i mean...

YEEEAAAHHHH! :D

Shambler(Posted 2004) [#4]
OMG it almost makes me feel like coding again! ;O

Eric(Posted 2004) [#5]
How did you do this? Can we see the code?

Tom(Posted 2004) [#6]
http://www.tomspeed.com/shadowvolume/
Use at own risk!

Remove the texture references.

It's definately ATI unfriendly at the moment.

Don't forget, v1.88 needed.

Bot Builder(Posted 2004) [#7]
Screenie is sweet :D

This is basically the problem for ati cards:
Graphics3D 640,480,32,2
cam=CreateCamera()
PositionEntity cam,0,3,-6
RotateEntity cam,30,0,0

shadowplane=CreateCube()
ScaleMesh shadowplane,10,10,.1
EntityColor shadowplane,256,256,256

CameraClsMode cam,False,False

While Not KeyHit(1)
	Cls
	RenderWorld
	RenderWorld
	Flip
Wend