Vector graphics - how to make the lines 'glow'?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Vector graphics - how to make the lines 'glow'?

IronGiant(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm currently dabbling with the source code to a game coded by someone else, namely 'Vecteroids' (2D game) by Jim Pishlo.

I'm curious if it's possible to make the vector lines 'glow' and look as smooth as possible as they would
on an original vector monitor.

Naturally the monitors we are using on our PCs (ie raster) operate very differently to a true vector monitor, but even so, with todays' 2D/3D graphics cards and programming techniques there must be a way to simulate the smooth, bright and *glowing* lines that you'd normally see on a vector monitor.

Please note: I'm a relative beginner at this. I could have posted this in the beginners' area but I thought more people would see it here. :)

Thanks

BlackD(Posted 2004) [#2]
A vector monitor? I don't think such a thing exists, except for the ones to trace waveforms, which are simply a light-beam moving over phosphor..

which is exactly what a CRT is, except at much higher resolution..

IronGiant(Posted 2004) [#3]
Okay then, an XY monitor to be precise. :)

They do exist, just not for use with PCs (I do though have one right behind me ....... in my Asteroids cab :-)

John Pickford(Posted 2004) [#4]
The effect would probably be easier to recreate using B3D and drawing the lines with polyons. The 'glow' could be drawn into the texture. Also the texture could be rendered in 'additive' mode.

TartanTangerine (was Indiepath)(Posted 2004) [#5]
Like this :)

Personally I would use a single surface system instead of sprites and use Tris instead of whole quads. This is just a quick one I knocked up for you.

[EDIT]Or Use this texture for the line : [/EDIT]

IronGiant(Posted 2004) [#6]
Indiepath.T - thanks very much for that, looks really nice. :-)

Is it possible to make it look even 'brighter'?