Need Ideas to speed up renderworld()

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Need Ideas to speed up renderworld()

Nexic(Posted 2004) [#1]
I am currently in the finishing stages of a space invaders/galaxians style game. I displays roughly 20-80 enemy ships on the screen at any one time. The enemy ships are B3D models, the game also has a large number of particle effects and lasers done with standard sprites. After using Micheal Reitzen's (sp?) profiler I found out that the only real place for much speed improvment was at renderworld().

I have done many experiments, removing certain things and recording the speed gain (if any) and almost nothing seems to impact the framerate except not displaying as many ships.

Due to the nature of the game I cannot really physically reduce the enemy numbers, but I was wondering if anyone knew any general ways to speed up the render of a model? I am pretty new to blitz and im sure there must be some undocumented commands which might help out.

Thanks,
-Nex

Sweenie(Posted 2004) [#2]
If you have for example 20 entities that looks the same(uses the same mesh) make sure that they are clones of the original entity.
This should make it a bit faster since the gfxcard would reuse the same vertexbuffer.

JKP(Posted 2004) [#3]
If you can reduce the number of polygons contained in the models then it should make a big difference. Use the TrisRendered() function to find out how many triangles are being rendered during RenderWorld

John Pickford(Posted 2004) [#4]
A single surface particle system is your best bet.

Nexic(Posted 2004) [#5]
The entities are already clones and using lower polygon models didnt really seem to help much.

Beaker(Posted 2004) [#6]
You need a single surface particle system as John said. It might be worth combining it with text if you are doing that with sprites as well.