Just got it, just a few questions and alil story

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Just got it, just a few questions and alil story

Drey(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hey, i've been a programmer for almost 4 years now and i was totally pumped when i found blitz3d. I worked on graphics engines in Visual Basic before( one WinAPI and one Direct X 7 stuff). I took C++ last year and i'm taking Assembly this year. So programming isn't new to me. I already learned alot from the Blitz3d demo. But i do have a few questions and i posted in here instead of beginners because i figured i'll get more hits and experters answers.

Poly pushing: I noticed that on my ATI 8500 i get about 700,000 poly per sec...on my friends ATI 9600 XT, he gets about the same rate and there's nothing special goin on in the background. Just alil camera movement and that's about it. I was wondering if i'm goin to have to create my own DLLs and run them through blitz3d to try to get some more polys drawing. My goal is at least 1.5 million polygons a sec. I would really like 2 or 3 million tho.
Any suggestions on how to get a higher rate? Have u gotten that high yourself?

Is it possible to change arrays size in a field(type)? And can u have a Type in a Type(haven't tested it yet,so might as well ask)?

What's the prefer editor, modeler, and file type? can u give a reason please.

Light mapping, i had some ideas on how to do it already. But i seems pretty wild. Got any links or suggestions on that.