Help me

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Help me

Iso(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hey, im new to Blitz 3d and really need to know why my program suddenly ends!

i have this code:
text1$="Hello"
print("Hello")

But then it just ends. I want it to pause and only end when u hit esc.Plz help me.

Bot Builder(Posted 2004) [#2]
Welcome to blitz :D

Blitz programs automatically end if there is no more code to execute, so you have to have it pause or loop (as you would have it do in a game).

text1$="Hello"
Print text1$
WaitKey

Probably the simplest way, this'll end on any key press.

text1$="Hello"
Print text1$

While Not Keyhit(1)
Wend

A little more complex, this will print the message and then loop while checking to see if you hit escape. (Key code 1).

Iso(Posted 2004) [#3]
Wow,awsome. Now, i need 2 know, how do i make it that if they press the y key it exits if they press the n key it displays the message "Ok"

and also, how do u kow that the escape key is 1? thats weird,could u plz explain?

Spacemonkey(Posted 2004) [#4]

how do u kow that the escape key is 1? thats weird,could u plz explain?
- look under keyboard scancodes

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#5]
One Three Three Seven Underscore G at Bar Slash Slash Bar Three Bar Z

How are you supposed to pronounce that?

Go to the blitz help and look at the scan code list or the scan code picker in the command reference. That'll tell you all the scan codes.

Now whilst you're in the help look at the keyhit and keydown commands.

After your waitkey check for a keydown for the scancodes for Y and N as I don't know them off the top of my head.

So you end up with:
waitkey
if keyhit(["Y" Scancode]) then print "You pressed Y"
if keyhit(["N" scancode]) then print "You pressed N"
or you could do..
waitkey
if keyhit(["Y" scancode])
     Print "You pressed Y"
else
     print "You pressed something else"
endif

Again you'll put a waitkey after that or it'll just end again.

Iso(Posted 2004) [#6]