Animation Ignoration

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Animation Ignoration

martonic(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi! I am looking at an animated 3ds model from DarkMatter (M-Raptor-Move.3ds). The following has me puzzled.

1) Blitz3d shows the animation, no problem!
2) I loaded the model into Milkshape, which reports "30 total frames", but when Milkshape "animates" the model, nothing moves.
3) I loaded the same model into Character FX, which reports "48 total frames" but again, nothing moves.

Also, in Character FX the model appears greatly distorted when compared to its appearance in Blitz or Milkshape.

I have several questions because I am new to this stuff and I don't yet understand what's going on.

Is either Milkshape or CFX useful for animating this model such that Blitz3d can use the results? If so, will the procedure necessitate the use of "b3d" format, or is it possible to continue in "3ds" format? I suspect that I would need Autodesk software to edit "3ds" animations, but I just don't know for sure. Is there a low-cost software that can correctly indicate the "3ds" keyframes?

Why can Blitz animate the model, but the other software cannot? Is it because they just don't deal with "3ds" animations at all?

Finally, why does the model appear so distorted in CFX?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

slenkar(Posted 2004) [#2]
I think the 'bone weights' are not set in CFX - dont know why not, so every bone affects each vertex equally which leads to distortion.

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#3]
I think the issue is that the DarkMatter models are heirarchy animated (they are 3ds after all) but Milkshape and CharacterFX only support skeletal animation.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2004) [#4]