Surfaces Not Illuminated

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Surfaces Not Illuminated

Newbunkle(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm fairly new to Blitz3D, and I've just run into my first major obstacle.

I've begun creating my own surfaces and meshes, but I run into problems when I add lighting effects. Some surfaces seem unaffected by lights. I created a corridor section which was hex shaped and I then placed a point light inside. Even though all the surfaces are visible from inside, and all are equally distant from the light source, some are illluminated and others aren't. Usually its the floor and the lower left hand wall that are lit up:

unlit --> _
unlit --> / \
unlit --> /

lit --> \_

NB: Each wall is a seperate surface, but the whole section is one mesh.

I can't post the code as I'm not at home. Does anyone have any idea why this might be happening? =/

Newbunkle(Posted 2004) [#2]
PS: Oops, I've just seen Captain Laser's similar thread. I should point out that I have used UpdateNormal on the object.

The diagram didn;t turn out too good either. Doh.

Caff(Posted 2004) [#3]
Yep, updatenormal is your friend. The other time a surface is unaffected by lights is when you use the Fullbright flag on the texture (e.g. you have a lightmap covering the mesh)

Floyd(Posted 2004) [#4]
Maybe the normals are pointing the wrong way, out of the corridor rather than into it.

Newbunkle(Posted 2004) [#5]
Floyd, I think you've hit the nail on the head, but I'm not sure how to get around it. I've used UpdateNormal at the end of the code once the six sides have been generated. Is there a way to update the normal for each of the six sides seperately? Using ambient light, I've taken a walk around it and the surfaces are inward-facing. Does Blitz usually throw a fit when dealing with meshes with only internal surfaces?

Stevie G(Posted 2004) [#6]