Multiplayer Buffer

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Multiplayer Buffer

Banshee(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hello,

I've nearly finished writting a multiplayer game in Blitz but i'm a little stuck on 1 problem. I'm still fairly new to Blitz but i've had a good look through the commands and cannot see the solution.

When too many players connect to the server the game looses sync.

I want to support up to 32 players and my data packet for each player is 36 bytes.

I think what is happening is that the network buffer is only 512bytes, so when I have more than 14 players the network buffer is overfilling and getting cropped.

Is it possible to increase the buffer size at all? I'm using the TCP command set and need a buffer size of 1152 bytes.

Here's a piccy to wet your lips :)

Dreamora(Posted 2004) [#2]
wet eyes would be more realistic when I look at the washed out non-contrast textures

Rob(Posted 2004) [#3]
Dreamora is a troll.

They look great andy!

Best look at a lib like rottnet on the general discussion forum as this uses UDP and is likely not to suffer those limitations. Worth a look?

Banshee(Posted 2004) [#4]
Thanks HaemoglobinLocust, i've asked in that thread about the network buffer although i'm dreading the thought of rewritting all my network code !

Thanks also Dreamora, if nothing else you helped keep my thread higher up the forum list... I think perhaps you should look again when I post more pictures of the game and you get to see more than just a tiny segment from just 1 of the 27 maps which feature many texture sets and contrast levels.

skidracer(Posted 2004) [#5]

I want to support up to 32 players and my data packet for each player is 36 bytes.

What is the frequency of packet transmission?

Is it a dedicated server program or player hosted?