confusion

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/confusion

luggage(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hello

I'm quite new to Blitz3d and was wondering if there were any articles that compare it to C?

I've been coding in C for years and getting my head around some of the stuff in Blitz3d is a little tricky.

eg.

1) I'm using Protean and created a project but how does Blitz know where to start? There is no main().

2) If I write code outside of a function in what order does it get executed if I have bits of code in several files?

3) What actually happens with the variables? Say I have 'temp = MyFunc()' When does temp get created? Destroyed? Should I care?

4) How does the Type stuff work? It's supposed to be like a structure right? I have some code which does 'player1.Player = CreatePlayer()'. Inside the function it does 'p.Player = New Player' What's player1, what's p? Where is getting these from? When I want to access this player it has to 'For p.Player=Each Player' - there's that 'p' thing again!

5) One of the elements of the Player type has 'Field entity'. What type is this? It calls p\entity = CreatePivot().

6) There's a toggle for wireframe and the code is 'wire = NOT wire' which is fair enough but I haven't created wire anywhere, let alone initialised it.

7) How do I free up my mesh when it's no longer needed?

Hope someone can clear some of these up.

Thanks!

scott

Rhyolite(Posted 2004) [#2]
I am no expert, but here goes:

1) Consider anything not in a function or sub-routine as being in main().

2) Normally code outside of functions/routines gets execute etop to bottom, but with Protean be aware of the order you have included any 'include' files.