Fastest GUI

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Fastest GUI

xmlspy(Posted 2004) [#1]

xmlspy(Posted 2004) [#2]

Rhyolite(Posted 2004) [#3]
I am no expert but went through similar process myself. I do not think their is a 'best' editor, it really comes down to requirements and personal preference.

Most GUI's are aimed at window style interfaces, and although they offer varying levels of flexibility, you will always be limited to a 'windows' style. Some look very nice, some offer more features and some are aimed at speed. However, from my searchings I do not believe any of these will look 'awesome' in most game types.

Swifts GUI gives you some excellent functions to create your own GUI and is excellent for game HUD's etc. It can of course be used to create ANY gui, not just HUD's, but will take a lot of work to setup (compared to the 'window' style gui's).

Personaly, I use sswifts GUI (in game) and BlitzUI (for my 'never to be seen by the public' editors etc). Also, being a relative novice, I have found sswifts code an extremly useful teaching aid as it is extremly well documented.

Hmmm, not sure if that helps? But it feels good to add something to the community instead of seeming to be always taking (i.e. asking questions)!!

Rhy Out

Dock(Posted 2004) [#4]
Ah, it's good to know how you break it down for your own projects. I'm in the process of working on an editor, so I'm thinking that maybe I should opt for a GUI such as BlitzUI in order to make it less work.

Hmm, neither SSwift's GUI and BlitzUI are listed on the toolbox page:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/toolbox/toolbox.php?cat=14

EDIT: I'm using BlitzUI at the moment, and WOW, this is great. This is going to make my editor so much easier (and more fun) to put together. Highly recommended. ^_^

CyberHeater(Posted 2004) [#5]
I'm also using BlitzUI and it's pretty good. And free :)

Rhyolite(Posted 2004) [#6]