EntityExists()?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/EntityExists()?

mrtricks(Posted 2004) [#1]
Is there a command that you can call to find out if an entity (or mesh) exists, and that you haven't Freed it?

fredborg(Posted 2004) [#2]
I think EntityClass() might work...

Edit: Nah, forget it, that didn't work

PsychicParrot(Posted 2004) [#3]
Can you check if it's either void or 0? I think you may be able to. I don't think there is an entityexists as such, though :(

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#4]
A couple weeks ago I was asking about the same thing. I/we concluded nothing like this exists in the commands, and a lot of people told me I'm a bad programmer for writing routines in which it is possible for my functions to attempt to do something with an entity which no longer exists. Frankly though I think this would be a very useful command. No matter how careful you are, in a large program you can never be 100% sure, so basic error trapping with an EntityExists command is vital.

What I couldn't understand is that people think checking if a load was successful before using loaded data makes sense, but these same people think checking if an entity exists before using it is lazy. The way I see it, if it'll crash your program then it's something to check for.

Psychicparrot: That only helps for a specific handle. You can check if a specific handle has been set to zero (since handles are just integer variables,) but you can't check if the entity a handle points to actually exists.

PsychicParrot(Posted 2004) [#5]
Yes, I see what you mean. If you use freeentity, though, the handle should go to 0 shouldn't it?

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#6]