Midtown Madness Style Game Possible?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Midtown Madness Style Game Possible?

Palpatine(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi,

I'm relatively new to B3D, as well as the whole 3D concept for that matter.

I do have an idea for a game however, but I have doubts if it would be possible to do in B3D.

I would like to create a 3D world in a city, kind of like in Micorsoft's Midtown Madness etc. but with cartoon-style characters walking through 'town', not cars.

Would this be possible?

What tools should I best use for creating the objects etc?

Any replies/ideas/feedback are very welcome! :-)

Cheers,
Ron

Techlord(Posted 2004) [#2]
Ron,

Blitz3D is designed for games. Any game is possible. It will take lots of planning, code, content, tools, and patience.

I would stress planning, planning, and more planning. RiftDriver is an FPS Engine being designed with this motto in mind. By taking timeout to plan my design, I'm designing a high performance modular engine that will used for a variety of games. This will save lots of code, content, tools, and patience.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2004) [#3]
Hi. You should not underestimate the amount of work that is neccessary to achieve something like any of those AAA Titles out there, including most Microsoft Game Releases. You know, when you are the most rich guy in the world, you can hire a lot of talented people. And those companies HAVE the best people. The business is heavy. It is likely that you will not be able to produce something complex and perfect like those titles, simply because you have to do everything by your own.

You have one advantage compared to them: with Blitz3D you have one of the fastest rapid development tools in your hands! There might be one or two features which are currently not yet possible in Blitz, but they are not really required to make a nice game.