Command Expansion WishList

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Command Expansion WishList

Apocalypse(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm new to Blitz but not to programming. I think I'm familiar enough with the Blitz language to see that there are some functions found in other languages that might be nice to have in Blitz.

What I'm offering is to write a DLL to include as many new functions you guys can think of and that are possible for me to produce in a 3rd party DLL. Specific 3D manipulations or processing Blitz objects may not be necessarily possible (since I don't have any inside info regarding their structures) but I can do functions like...

GetTickCount
GetTickFrequency
Inc <Var>
Dec <Var>
etc...

If you guys could start a wish list of stuff, perhaps I could accomodate. I also am pretty good at ASM so I could potentially speed up some functions that might otherwise be too slow in native Blitz.

Whaddaya Think?!

poopla(Posted 2004) [#2]
Hmm.. very nice offer, can't think of anything right off hand though.

John Blackledge(Posted 2004) [#3]
I'd like to see the more obscure but useful Windows commands like GetModuleFilename().
Also LoadIcon() and DrawIcon(). I'd have an immediate use for those.
Oh, and while I think, a good drag-drop mechanism, which is, lets face it, bloody easy in C but impossible in Blitz.

slenkar(Posted 2004) [#4]
you could try increasing the speed of picks??

Apocalypse(Posted 2004) [#5]
<John>
Those functions are easily accessed by creating a .decls file with the DLL prototype. While I can include some of those, I was thinking of perhaps more complex functions not already available via the WinAPI.

How about things like...
Format$ - formatting a strings output similar to VB
DateAdd - Adding to or subtracting from a date by days/months/years.

Or maybe a new set of File I/O functions that can read/write structures or arrays at once.

Or functions to create/manipulate memory buffers.

Or testing for existence of a file or directory.