TextureFlag 2, alpha problems!

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/TextureFlag 2, alpha problems!

Jeroen(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi!

I'm having troubles with entities that use an alpha channel: I can see leaves of trees that suppose to be behind other trees, being rendered in FRONT. What is going wrong? :-(

The crystal should be behind the tree, not in front.

The trees on the right are transparant, when the sea is behind them.

Thanks

Paul "Taiphoz"(Posted 2004) [#2]
Try looking into entityorder I think it is.. to set when you want something drawn to screen.

Hope this helps.

Jeroen(Posted 2004) [#3]
No it hasn't to do anything with entityOrder....only the alpha textures give the problem, the mesh in its whole is drawn correctly as you can see on the screenshots.

Tangent(Posted 2004) [#4]
I'm new to b3d, but I've encountered this in other packages.
It's the sorting. Your alpha maps are showing in front of everything else... Is there some control on the sorting?

Jeroen(Posted 2004) [#5]
that's my question as well :)

Tangent(Posted 2004) [#6]
Sorry, there's a piece of code dealing with sorting in the code section.. perhaps that would help?

Stevie G(Posted 2004) [#7]
Have you tried 'entityfx 34' (vertexalpha + vertex color) - not sure if that would work with 'entityalpha' but if you use vertexcolors I'm sure alpha always screwed up?

I don't think entitorder will help as this apparently disables the z-buffer altogether for that entity.

fredborg(Posted 2004) [#8]
Alternatively you could use masking instead of alpha, it doesn't have the same problem.

Another solution is to sort your polygons manually. MasterBeaker has made some great functions for this, which you can scoop out of the code archives.

Genexi2(Posted 2004) [#9]
This might help :
http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=850

Anyway, I have to say, thats a damn mighty fine lookin' project you goin' there, you make the graphics yerself?

Jeroen(Posted 2004) [#10]