3D Beginner

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/3D Beginner

Uhfgood(Posted 2003) [#1]
I'm not sure if this, or the beginner forum was appropriate. I am by no means a beginner to blitz, but up until now I've only barely done anything with the 3d commands of blitz3d.

I made a game in C over a year ago call lx1 which you can see some screenshots here http://uhfgood.artoo.net/lx1.html and I basically want to convert it to blitz3D. Well not directly porting it, rather I want to rewrite it in blitz3d. I don't mean 2d for 3d, I mean with full 3d models, but with the view as seen in the screenshots.

For modeling all I have is truespace 3.2 which was free, and since free is the only thing in my price range, I downloaded it, and am learning how to use it. So somehow I need to get truespace 3.2 .COB files inti blitz, probably with animations. Since I don't know much I may not start out with animations, but I want to be able to animate the models in the game eventually.

So can anyone point me in the right direction to some tutorials, converters, web pages, basically anything that will give a beginner to 3d like me a place to start when rewriting my game using blitz3d -- given the fact I only have truespace 3.2?

Any help is appreciated.
Keith Weatherby II

Ross C(Posted 2003) [#2]
Is Milkshape out of your range? It's very cheap, and when used with characterFx(very cheap), it's a cool combo :)

Graythe(Posted 2003) [#3]
This seems to have a free convertor - dunno if it works tho.

http://home.europa.com/~keithr/crossroads/

Doggie(Posted 2003) [#4]
If I'm not mistaken, TS3.2 will export directly to x files
animation, textures and all.
Someone once told me that Blitz3D doesn't support Truespace
x files made with bones but that isn't true. You should be able to animate your models using loadanimmesh and animate commands with no problem.

Doggie

Uhfgood(Posted 2003) [#5]