Creating a dice in code?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Creating a dice in code?

Not Available(Posted 2003) [#1]
Hi all,

This seems like such a newbie question, however I'll ask it anyhow; how does one create a dice with the numbers textured on each face in Blitz 3D code only (ie. starting from createcube, how do you texture each face individually)?

Kind Regards to everyone,
-R

puki(Posted 2003) [#2]
I'm a newbie too, but I assume you could simply create a cube and then cube map the numbers onto it - "X"'s being the faces
X
XXXX
X

Not Available(Posted 2003) [#3]
How do you cube map the numbers onto it in code?

ie.
dim side(6)
for a=1 to 6
side(a)=createtexture(128,128)
setbuffer texturebuffer(side(a)
s$=str(a)
text (128-stringwidth(s$))/2,(128-stringheight(s$))/2,s$
************* WHAT COMMAND GOES HERE TO PLACE THE
************* TEXTURE ON SIDE N OF THE CUBE
next

puki(Posted 2003) [#4]
I might be greatly leading you astray but, have a look at the help documention for "SetCubeFace"

puki(Posted 2003) [#5]
I suppose you could also probably create your cube out of 6 flat sides and texture each one individually and then calculate them together to make a cube - I only mentioned cube mapping as it is the new thing Blitz can do - it may not be the most efficient - you best wait for help from someone who knows their stuff - I'm no expert

Ross C(Posted 2003) [#6]
You could use cube-mapping. I suppose that's what you doing above. Basically cube mapping is one texture with six frames in it. so createtexture (768,128) and don't forget to put the cube mapping flag in. Your probably better create 6 quads and texturing each of them, and arranging them in a box shape. OR, create a texture with all six sides on it, and manually adjust the uv co-ords of each vertex so that the texture fits correctly.

Or, and final or, Create your cube in a modelling program, and uv map it yourself, saving alot of cding :D

puki(Posted 2003) [#7]