"Am I missing something?" or "why Blitz3D terrains are nearly useful!"

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/"Am I missing something?" or "why Blitz3D terrains are nearly useful!"

Dazza(Posted 2003) [#1]
I am new to Blitz3D, having moved over from DarkBasic Pro.

As the title of this topic says, my problem is that I cannot see a way of applying textures to the surface of a terrain, other than the global 'slap it all over' entity texture.

I don't understand why a really useful feature such as being able to load a heightmap to create a terrain, is let down by the fact that they are pretty much useless as you can't texture them properly.

Or am I missing something?

I have a 256x256 heightmap to create the terrain, and a 256x256 heightmap to create a water terrain. What I wanted to do was have another 256x256 image to determine the texture numbers to apply to the appropriate 'cells' on the terrain.

Kuron(Posted 2003) [#2]
Look through the code archives and look through the showcase at Blitz coder. There should be some alternatives to choose from. Personally, I use the terrain system by sswift:

http://www.blitzbasic.com/logs/userlog.php?user=963

It is well worth the modest $$.

sswift(Posted 2003) [#3]
"I have a 256x256 heightmap to create the terrain, and a 256x256 heightmap to create a water terrain. What I wanted to do was have another 256x256 image to determine the texture numbers to apply to the appropriate 'cells' on the terrain."

Blitz terrains are a single mesh with a single surface which dynamically changes shape. As such, only one texture can be applied. And, because they use the ROAM level of detail algorithm, there are no fixed size "tiles" on the terrain which can be used to apply different sections of a larger texture to the terrain with.