Visual Basic VS Blitz

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Visual Basic VS Blitz

LostCargo(Posted 2003) [#1]
Im a visual basic programmer by trade, and have poked around in visual basic in relation to DirectX.

Has anyone come up with a good benchmark tool/process for benchmarking speed? I have been enjoying Blitzbasic and am very pleased with it (im not changing 3d languages dont worry). I just want to know if there is something out there that could tell me the pros and cons of blitz vs vb.
I know vb is more complicated, and definitely bloatwear - so that one is pretty much resolved.

Any thoughts from any VB programmers out there?

Rottbott(Posted 2003) [#2]
Ergh. I'd hate to try and use VB for any large complicated application.

As far as I'm aware they're pretty similar speed-wise at doing 3D. I suspect Blitz may actually be faster just at language and maths stuff.

But I've never done any proper tests so I'm not certain.

Zenith(Posted 2003) [#3]
Well, being it was concepted as a games language, Blitz is far superior in that department -- Are there any VB games anyway? :)

Okay.. Google came up with a ton of searches. My bad. :D

Then again, most VB games are tic tac toe and shizzle. Being that, VB was made for software applications, so I thought.

dynaman(Posted 2003) [#4]
If you want to do games development in VB take a look at truevision3d or revolution3d.

Blitz still wins over those in my opinion since it is much easier to get stuff installed on a user's PC.

LostCargo(Posted 2003) [#5]
oh i agree. having to do calculations for turning a parentt child set of meshes of way better. Most of the features im looking for in my games require multithreading and database/network connectivity. Unfortunately blitz doesnt have any native way of doing that. We have written a dll library that connects to a database that we can use for blitz but its really not what im looking for.