Quality textures

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Quality textures

Jager(Posted 2003) [#1]
I'm having problems getting my textures to look good on my mesh. Even though I use 200 dpi (not pixels) textures, they look chunky and blurred, especially on round objects (like a head). Maybe I should texture entities before scaling them? or use > 200? or more likely, flatten the object before texturing?

BTW, is it important to use texture sizes divisible by 2? Mine are generally 100 * 200 etc.

As you can tell I'm still learning (spelling included).

BHoltzman(Posted 2003) [#2]
I thought that it was good practice to use textures that are a power of 2. i.e. 2,4,8,16,32,64, etc...

You may need to adjust your projection method. If you are putting a texture on a round object then sphereical mapping might work better than planar. I haven't tried much with mapping in Blitz3d so I forget whether or not Blitz3d has these mapping methods available or not. It probably does.

sswift(Posted 2003) [#3]
Yes always use textures which are square and a power of 2 in size. Blitz and/or your video card will scale them up to that size and it makes them ugly and you still use the same aound ot video ram.

Also, for a character, you can surely get away with using a 512x512 texture.

But one trick you can use if you're stuck with low res, is you can allocate a larger amount of the texture to the face and to other detailed areas than to the rest of the mesh. This requires careful texture unwrapping.

poopla(Posted 2003) [#4]
200x200 pixel maps are not very big bro, expect possiblwe tearing and blur. I would say these days minimum is 512 on anything high detail.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2003) [#5]
200 will be streched to 256 afaik, so it's a waste of Videoram. Unwrapping a Model is a serious science. Characters can be textured in a clever way. The Face would use much more Space than some other parts. This way it can look highly detailed with 512 and still pretty good with 256 Texel Textures.