considering 3d model site

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/considering 3d model site

gellyware(Posted 2003) [#1]
Hi, I am very new to blitz3d, about a week into it now. I find that having code with no models is kind of depressing :) I am an Architect Student and I have done 3d models for a few years now. Recently I began doing low polygon models to play with, and I find I am good at it. What I would like to know is if anyone in the blitz community thinks it would be a good idea to set up a website that sells low polygon models for cheap? I bought the domain name lowpolyshop.com, and I am considering putting some stuff together mainly for games. If there is a demand for this, I will focus a lot of my energy in this direction. Also I would be looking for others to add collections for sale, as well as give away some free models. My question(s) are this. a) Is this a good idea? b)what should be included-- texture? animations? Please give me feedback here c)would custom character design appeal to anyone? :) If there is big demand, I start right away. Thanks!

_PJ_(Posted 2003) [#2]
Considering I am completely useless when it comes to creating my own models, I would be very interested. Also, I would be very interested in ANY models from houseplants to aliens to medieval castles etc. I require all sorts!

Just be wary of competition there really are lots of websitse offering similar stuff.

Todd(Posted 2003) [#3]
This sounds like a good idea to me. I know a lot of people (including myself) don't really like 3d modelling, so I think it would be great to offer a good place for people to get models. The only thing I would suggest is that you should not make them too expensive, and that they are royalty free. Also I would definatly want textures included, or at least already be UV mapped, so I can make my own textures.

Gabriel(Posted 2003) [#4]
a) Is this a good idea?

Yes. Lack of media is clearly a big stumbling block for many Blitzers.