Code structure

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Code structure

Wolfsong73(Posted 2016) [#1]
Hello

So, was wondering about this today at work, and thought I'd ask.

I know in programming, people tend to develop their own styles, and there's no one way to do anything.

I'm curious about how people structure their code?

For example, do you define all your images, functions and such at the beginning of the code? Do you put certain things at the end? Perhaps some things are kept in separate files which are then included, etc. etc?

It seems like, though I'm still very new to all this, that learning some good "housekeeping" habits would be a good idea, esp. as I start to create more complex programs. So, I'm looking for some ideas/advice/examples of how people structure/organize their code.

Thanks!

RemiD(Posted 2016) [#2]
personally the structure of my code (using Blitz3d) currently looks like this (the structure of my old codes may be slightly different, but most of them work well) :

;initialize constants, globals, lists (arrays and customtypes)
;functions/procedures, systems
;load premade components (meshes, skeletons (joints/bones), animations, textures, images, fonts, sounds)
;initialize graphics window
;initialize camera
;initialize listener
;build world
;mainloop
 ;getinput (mouse, keyboard)
 ;mode interaction 2D (update menu)
 ;mode interaction 3D (update world, entities)
 ;go to backbuffer
 ;render3d
 ;draw2d
 ;flip backbuffer to frontbuffer
 ;play/stop sounds
;exit

but this is just my structure, you can organize your code as you prefer (if it works well)

RemiD(Posted 2016) [#3]
here is a basic scene with a grid and first person view controls

(as you can see the structure of this code is different than what i have explained in my previous post, but it works well...)

Bobysait(Posted 2016) [#4]
one tip I always do :
All functions and extra stuff should always be defined before anything else