Pointers to type instances and fields

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Pointers to type instances and fields

eNano(Posted 2015) [#1]
Hi, some time ago I was playing around with pointers and I was studying about types and fields.
Just to share a little I put here what I've got so far
(Sorry if maybe I don't use the correct names for each concept, I'm not a coder, just curious)

Suppose you have a type like this:

Type test
field IntegerField%
field FloatField#
field ArrayField%[3]
field StringField$
End Type

When you create an instance you do:
test1.test = new test

If you want to see an integer value that represents that instance you can write:
test1Pointer = Int(test1)

this give us a memory address that represents this instance, and
If you want to access each field of that instance you just have to start reading 20 bytes after this integer, and then each value is separated by 4 bytes intervals

for example the value of the first field(integer) is this:
MemoryPeekINT ( testPointer+20 )
this will return the value of the first field

the second field is:
MemoryPeekFLOAT ( testPointer+20+4 )
this will return the value of the second field (a FLOAT)

To access a field of the array kind you have to get the pointer of that array first, and then get each element in a 4 bytes interval.

For example the pointer for the array field is
arrayFieldPointer = MemoryPeekINT ( testPointer+20+4+4 )
and from that point you can get each value in the correct format (in this case we have an integers array)
If I want to get the third value I write:
MemoryPeekINT (arrayFieldPointer + 8 (0 based count))

Having shared this I have a question: What about strings?
I can't figure out how to access them, this is what I have so far:
pointerToStringField = MemoryPeekINT ( testPointer+20+4+4+4 )
stringLEN = pointerToStringField + 8

WHERE SHOULD I READ THE EACH CHAR??
THANKS!

RemiD(Posted 2015) [#2]
Not sure if you are doing this for fun or whatever but :