Blitz3D and C++ DLL coding question

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Blitz3D and C++ DLL coding question

videz(Posted 2014) [#1]
I'm new to DLL programming so I'm not sure what compiler to use. Currently I have CodeBlocks Setup with either VC2008/2010 or MinGW and I'm trying to test a simple DLL here

http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=51944

It mentions coding in Dev C++. Can I use VC2010 or CodeBlocks instead? I'm currently using V1.106

videz(Posted 2014) [#2]
...Ending up installing and trying it out in Dev C++ and it works. Maybe there's a solution for VC2010 or CodeBlocks???

Rroff(Posted 2014) [#3]
I ended up going back to using LCC compiler for blitz userlib dlls :S not sure what the problem is but I'm assuming new stuff like VC 2013 is building dlls that can't be loaded with plain loadlibrary or something though I did try messing with the character set.

videz(Posted 2014) [#4]
Thanks Rroff for this info. I didn't know about LCC, does this particular compiler support latest C frameworks?

Yasha(Posted 2014) [#5]
Blitz3D DLLs are simple once you get the hang of them. All you need is a compiler that lets you build DLLs and supports the stdcall calling convention.

You don't need a fancy environment like an IDE, and if this is your introduction to C or C++ programming, you should definitely avoid them as they make life much, much more complicated. You should also avoid Visual Studio unless you actually need it as it's different and strange and doesn't do things the normal way. (And you should avoid Dev-CPP because it's ridiculously outdated.)

MinGW works best; if that's too big an install for the moment you might also consider TCC, which is C-only, but very small (less than 1MB!).