Replacing Blitz3d collisions?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Replacing Blitz3d collisions?

Cubed Inc.(Posted 2013) [#1]
Admit it: Blitz3d's collision engine sucks. Is there any sort of DLL or engine out there that can replace Blitz3d's crappy collisions with something actually reliable? I really hope no one takes my opinion to personally - I'm dipping my feet into some real dangerous waters by posting this on its own.

Imperium(Posted 2013) [#2]
Coldet is the fastest but I'm still learning how to use it myself.

http://telias.free.fr/3d_blitz3d.html

Yasha(Posted 2013) [#3]
Can't say I've ever found reliability to be the problem, but the performance is quite poor and it doesn't really do very much. It's perfectly fair to look for something else if it can't do what you need!

Aside from ColDet (which is incredibly fast but you have to write the responses yourself), you could just try a full physics engine. Even something relatively old like ODE should still give you a performance improvement, and instead of being limited to one-way slides and stops, you get full rigid body dynamics.

You've got other options too, but this is a huge "depends what you want it for" area.

RemiD(Posted 2013) [#4]

Blitz3d's collision engine sucks. Is there any sort of DLL or engine out there that can replace Blitz3d's crappy collisions with something actually reliable?

I say learn to debug and you will see that Blitz3d collision system is not crappy and is reliable, even if it has limits and some weaknesses.

From my tests Blitz3d collisions works well and are fast enough. I have had only 2 problems :
->when a collider emitter is created and already intersects with a collider receiver. Then when the collider emitter moves, it goes through the collider receiver.