Handling Rendered Layers

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Programming/Handling Rendered Layers

Omnicode(Posted 2013) [#1]
Currently I use a rather simple rendering of layers to make sure everything is setup correctly, however I was hoping to optimize... any help?

It just uses global pivots to hold all the entities that should be rendered appropriately for that layer, then its cycled upon the Function RenderLayered(Tween#) - Using the Castle-Demos FPS setup for tweening.

I can't but feel as though this could be compressed and stream-lined. I'm relatively new to any type of higher efficiency rendering methods.

Type RenderLayer
     Field Layer,Order
End Type

Global SkyLayer.RenderLayer=New RenderLayer
       SkyLayer\Layer=CreatePivot()
       SkyLayer\Order=1
Global TerraLayer.RenderLayer=New RenderLayer
       TerraLayer\Layer=CreatePivot()
       TerraLayer\Order=2
Global PlayerLayer.RenderLayer=New RenderLayer
       PlayerLayer\Layer=CreatePivot()
       PlayerLayer\Order=3

Function RenderLayered(tween#)
Local count=1
Cls
CameraClsMode Camera,0,1
For Layer.RenderLayer=Each RenderLayer
    If Layer\Order=count
    	ShowEntity Layer\Layer
        RenderWorld(Tween#)
    	HideEntity Layer\Layer
        Count=Count+1
    EndIf
    If Count>=3 Then Count=1
Next
End Function

Yasha(Posted 2013) [#2]
You don't need to worry about optimising this. An "outer" loop will have no measurable effect on performance no matter how ugly its logic is - the real work is still all being done by RenderWorld, and hiding large chunks of the scene in a single HideEntity call is about as efficient a way to split up render sets as you can get in B3D. While three calls to RenderWorld are less efficient than one for obvious reasons, there's no way you can really change that while still having the separate render passes, so don't worry about it. As far as efficiency goes this is perfectly fine.