What Program to buy?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/What Program to buy?

collimic(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello,
I am a teacher and I am going to have to teach a Blitz product to my high school students.

I would like to know if I should be teaching
1. Blitz3d
2. Blitz Max
3. Monkey Coder

I am very new to these programs but I have been instructed to teach one of these.

I have been reading code for years but I am not a programmer. I do have a very solid understanding of Basic Programming and I have played with Blitz3d.

Is one better for students? Is one better for the industry?
Does Monkey Coder do any 3D?

Thank you for you input.

Yasha(Posted 2012) [#2]
I have been instructed to teach one of these

Seriously? Who's put BRL stuff on the curriculum? That's really interesting news! Do share.

To actually answer your questions, for educational purposes, I would strongly order them as 3, 2, 1; and yes Monkey supports 3D through Adam Redwoods' port of miniB3D (possibly other engines too by now, I don't keep up).

Monkey is a largely superior language to BlitzMax: it allows a cleaner and more modern coding style by supporting such features as interfaces, generics, and local type inference: living without these in the 21st century is near-impossible, and they make things much easier, safer and faster (e.g. you cannot guarantee the type safety of a collection without generics, meaning the BlitzMax compiler has a great gaping hole in its safety). Your students will want to learn Monkey's additional features, because they're a regular part of "real world" programming in mainstream languages like Java, C#, C++, etc.