Introducing myself - F-19 remake

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Introducing myself - F-19 remake

MarkG(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello, my name is Mark and I'm intending to make this and the other B3D-related boards my new home for the next several years.

Quick background...

I'm a long-time VB programmer (v3 - 6), having written a couple of large apps for AutoCAD LT (3.1 - 2002). Now that I'm mostly retired, I'm getting my feet wet with 3D game development to make my dream game, an updated (although not necessarily modern) remake of Microprose's F-19 Stealth Fighter (a combat flight sim from 1988).

I started writing a Game Design Document here...

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3638115/Retro_Flight_Simulator_F_19_Ga.html#Post3638115

...which I still need to complete.

I'm also learning C++ programming on the side (VC6).

My reasons for choosing Blitz3D (w/IDEal once I outgrow the default IDE) are:

A. I'm comfortable with BASIC.
B. I'm keeping a retro look and feel to my game (DX7 is more than capable for my needs).
C. I still prefer developing in Windows 2000 (although Win7 is fine for posting and playing).

Another reason I choose B3D over newer game makers was the availability of a printed manual (not bad for $20.00, IMO). I just finished the manual tutorials and I'm about to start on some others.

Now if only I had waited a couple of months to purchase B3D for the price drop. :)

Nah, I'm very pleased with B3D so far if just for teaching me what a game really is, and as long as these support boards stay open I think B3D will work out perfectly for me.

So I'm off to do a lot of board reading and if I have any questions I can't find on my own I'll ask.

GfK(Posted 2012) [#2]
Hasn't been a decent combat flight sim for years. Was my favourite genre years ago and you cannot beat Bob Dinnerman's F/A-18 Interceptor.

MarkG(Posted 2012) [#3]