Texturing A hexagon

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Texturing A hexagon

Juoni(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hi, I'm working with RealmCrafter engine. I'm new to blitz3d and I've created a hexagon mesh for the ability buttons on the interface.

My first problem is. I'm having problems with the U, and V Texture options on Addvertex. and getting the texture to actually fit.

Any help would be appreciated, if you need more info I can do that.
~Juoni

Adam Novagen(Posted 2012) [#2]
Well, two things would help greatly if you could possibly post them:

1) A description of how you'd like your texture to fit the hexagon. A picture of the texture itself with the hexagon outline drawn over it would help a lot, actually.

2) A wireframe shot of the hexagon itself, so we can see just how the polygons are arranged.

If you can get these then I'll bet we can fix your problem in no time!

Ross C(Posted 2012) [#3]
It's actually very easy to do, if your hexagon is orientated along an axis. You just find the width and height of the hexagon, and use the actual vertex co-ords to make the UV's. More info would help!

Juoni(Posted 2012) [#4]

Okay here is our prototype interface. The design is ours but the character pictures aren't.

Here is what I have so far(lol) a long way to go

Thank you hope this helps

Last edited 2012

Last edited 2012

Last edited 2012

Adam Novagen(Posted 2012) [#5]
Writing a reply now; could take a half-hour or so because I'm multitasking, so stay tuned.

Kryzon(Posted 2012) [#6]
Those hexagons are not regular, they're kinda stretched.
Any square texture you apply to these stretched hexagons will be distorted.
The ones in your prototype interface are regular, so let's keep them that way.

The benefits of using regular hexagons: it'll be easier to find the right UV values, and you can scale it later on in case you really want it the way it's in the screenshot.