Blitz3D supported resolutions

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Blitz3D supported resolutions

Makis(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi
I'm new to game programming and i have a simple question to ask!
Can Blitz3D support resolutions below 640x480 in full screen mode? If i set the resolution to 320x240 i get an ''unable to set graphics mode'' error.
Any help?

GaryV(Posted 2011) [#2]
B3D can likely support 320x240, but the chances are that modern hardware can't.

Floyd(Posted 2011) [#3]
I'm not sure if I was ever able to set a 3D mode of 320 x 240, but I definitely used it in 2D. I think I even used 320 x 200.

That was all in the distant past. Now 640 x 480 is my minimum. That must be a hardware or driver limitation.

In fact I just tried Blitz3D in 640 x 480 and it looked surprisingly non-horrible, but much worse than native LCD resolution.

Makis(Posted 2011) [#4]
I'm aiming for a Freescape Engine look and at resolutions from 640x480 and above the graphics look very clean with no jagged lines, as AA is applied on. Can't describe it better than that:(

Last edited 2011

Yasha(Posted 2011) [#5]
You can take a look at which modes Blitz3D supports with the CountGFXModes and CountGFXModes3D commands, then iterate through them checking their width and height (see the 2D\Graphics and 3D\GraphicsModes chapters of the command index). You need to count the modes first or the list won't exist.

Blitz3D itself has more or less no limitations on what it can create (it can go as low as 1x1 in windowed mode). The upper limit is 2048x1536, which presumably doesn't interest you much right now.

As for what you actually want to achieve, perhaps you could do something similar to this? http://superfriendshipclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=117#p1324

What that person's done more or less translates to:

1) Set the graphics mode to whatever the user wants, because it's largely irrelevant