step by step

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/step by step

Saakazmi(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi
I am very new to programming and this is my very first programming project. Please bear if the questions seem stupid.
I am trying to build a program like a flight simulator. All the program has to do is to move an aircraft (roll, pitch and yaw) according to time. For example, when time = 0, the roll = 1, the pitch = 2, yaw = 3 and so on....
Here is part of my code:

If MilliSecs() = timer + 1000 Then pitch#=2 yaw#=2 roll#=2
If MilliSecs() = timer + 2000 Then pitch#=3 yaw#=3 roll#=3
If MilliSecs() = timer + 3000 Then pitch#=4 yaw#=4 roll#=4

the problem i am facing is that the code is jumping from the first line (t = 1 secs) directly to the last line (t = 16 secs).
I have also tried adding elseif but it is showing an error "else without if".

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Saakazmi(Posted 2011) [#2]
I want it to go step by step from one code line to another.

Drak(Posted 2011) [#3]
You're checking if the frame is executed at an EXACT millsecond in time. Chances this will ever happen, is improbably small.

Blitz3d won't wait to execute the next line like you want it to. Fortunately, there are way around this.

First you need to know what the exact millisecond in time it is when you first start the program.

a = MilliSecs()

Print a

This will return some number like 164190664. What you should be checking for is if new millisecs() is 164190664 + 1000 but no more than 2000. Then 3000, then 4000, and so on. Not literally but in pseudocode that's the way it will look. Here is an example:

Last edited 2011

Saakazmi(Posted 2011) [#4]
@Drak
thanks a lot for your help!!!!
but now i have a new error saying that entity does not exist.

Here is my entire program (with your bit of code included):

Graphics3D 640,480,16,2
SetBuffer BackBuffer()

;create camera

camera = CreateCamera()
CameraClsColor camera,14,49,44

;create light

light = CreateLight()

;create aircraft